What Chrome's October 13 stable note says it fixed
Chrome's October 13 note says 155.0.8059.79 includes 37 security fixes. A next-day headline says Chrome and Firefox patch 114. That combined figure is not Chrome's.
The short version
Thirty-seven, in Chrome 155.0.8059.79 for Linux and 155.0.8059.79 or .80 for Windows and Mac. The note says details may stay restricted until most users are updated. It does not say 114.
What the stable note says
On October 13, 2026, the Chrome Releases blog said the desktop stable channel had been updated to 155.0.8059.79 and .80 for Windows and Mac, and to 155.0.8059.79 for Linux, rolling out over the coming days or weeks. The same note says the update includes 37 security fixes, and that access to bug details may stay restricted until a majority of users are updated, or if a bug sits in a third-party library other projects have not fixed. The page filing that count isFutureweb.
What this page will not import from the list
The release note points at a security page for more information. This brief does not turn that list into steps, commands, or a map of which component to aim at. The identifier that matters for a reader deciding whether to update is the version, and the impact the note itself states is 37 security fixes. The desk is Asked directly, Which build does the Chrome note name? 155.0.8059.79 and .80 for Windows and Mac, and 155.0.8059.79 for Linux, rolling out over the coming days or weeks.Software.
What a second account adds, and what it must not replace
SecurityOnline's October 14 account says the same version and the same 37, and it says Google has not reported the bugs as exploited. That exploited sentence is the account's, beside the release note's silence. A version number, the standing question under a build that is still rolling out, is The short answer this page will stand on is this: Thirty-seven, in Chrome 155.0.8059.79 for Linux and 155.0.8059.79 or .80 for Windows and Mac. The note says details may stay restricted until most users are updated. It does not say 114.what a version number has to mean.
Why the 114 does not replace the 37
SecurityWeek's October 14 headline says Chrome and Firefox updates patch 114 flaws, and it pairs that line with Mozilla's Firefox Enterprise announcement. Firefox Enterprise is a product introduction this paper already filed. It is not this stable note. Adding Firefox's fixes to Chrome's 37 can produce a larger headline number. It cannot edit the Chrome note. The security desk, for an advisory that names one product, isSecurity.
Who is in scope
The note addresses desktop Chrome on Windows, Mac, and Linux at the versions it prints. It says the rollout takes days or weeks, so a machine that has not restarted onto 155.0.8059.79 is still on the older build. This page does not invent an Android build number. A separate Chrome-for-Android line exists on the same blog index and is not the desktop note this brief is filing. A signature on a package, a different check from a channel update, isa signature on a package.
What this page will not treat as a single total
Thirty-seven is Chrome's figure for this desktop update. One hundred fourteen is an outlet's combined headline. Mozilla's enterprise brief is a third document. A reader who needs one sentence can use the release note: 155.0.8059.79, 37 security fixes, details restricted until most users are updated. A reader who needs a proof of concept will not find one here. Asked directly, Does that note say any of the 37 fixes are being used in attacks? The note this page is using does not say that. It says bug details may stay restricted until most users have the fix.
What to watch next
A later Chrome note that changes the version or the count of 37 would replace this page. A statement that a named fix is being used in attacks would be a new fact the October 13 note does not contain. Another headline that adds Firefox's tally to Chrome's would not. The advisory shape this paper uses for a single product is Asked directly, Where does the number 114 come from? A SecurityWeek headline on October 14, which pairs Chrome and Firefox updates. It is not a figure in the Chrome stable note.the advisory.
What would change the record
If Chrome edits the post and the 37 becomes a different integer, this page follows the edit. If SecurityWeek later prints a table that shows 37 plus a separate Firefox count equaling 114, the headline would become arithmetic instead of a third source for Chrome's number. Until then, 114 stays labeled as the outlet's combination. The enterprise product launch does not change the stable-channel version. Asked directly, Is Firefox Enterprise the same document? No. Mozilla's enterprise product was filed on October 13. The Chrome note is a stable-channel fix count.
What stays Chrome's count
What stays specific is an October 13, 2026 desktop stable note: Chrome 155.0.8059.79, with .80 also named for Windows and Mac, 37 security fixes, and a warning that bug details may remain restricted. SecurityOnline repeats the 37 and says exploitation was not reported. SecurityWeek's 114 covers Chrome and Firefox together and sits next to a Firefox Enterprise announcement this paper has already separated from the fix count. No command belongs on this page. No component inventory belongs on this page. The build number and the vendor's own total are the record, and the combined headline is not a correction of that total unless the release note changes. A machine still rolling forward over the coming days is the scope the note itself describes. Linux is named at .79 only. Windows and Mac are named at .79 and .80. That split is in the note. This page does not collapse it.
Sources
The reports this brief is filing. Futureweb did not republish them.
Questions
Which build does the Chrome note name?
155.0.8059.79 and .80 for Windows and Mac, and 155.0.8059.79 for Linux, rolling out over the coming days or weeks.
Does that note say any of the 37 fixes are being used in attacks?
The note this page is using does not say that. It says bug details may stay restricted until most users have the fix.
Where does the number 114 come from?
A SecurityWeek headline on October 14, which pairs Chrome and Firefox updates. It is not a figure in the Chrome stable note.
Is Firefox Enterprise the same document?
No. Mozilla's enterprise product was filed on October 13. The Chrome note is a stable-channel fix count.
What would replace the thirty-seven?
A corrected Chrome release note. An outlet total that adds a second browser would not.