What the Qualcomm and Huawei license states
On October 5, 2026, Huawei and Qualcomm announced a cross-license and a separate U.S. patent purchase. The release states no price and no net payor.
The short version
A multi-year cross-license across 5G, compute, AI, and networking, plus Qualcomm's purchase of certain Huawei U.S. patents, which closes only after regulatory approval. The release names no price and no net payor.
What happened
On October 5, 2026, in Shenzhen, Huawei and Qualcomm announced a multi-year patent license. The text both companies published has two parts. The first is a cross-license to patent portfolios across 5G, compute, AI, and networking. The second is Qualcomm's purchase of certain Huawei U.S. patents in compute, AI, networking, and other technologies. The purchase closes after regulatory approvals. The release says the practices are meant to be consistent with fair, reasonable, and non-discriminatory terms. It does not state a price, a royalty direction, or a closing date. Alan Fan, Huawei's chief intellectual property officer, and John Han, of Qualcomm Technology Licensing, both tied the agreement to standards work each company claims in mobile radio. The paper filing the text, rather than a headline about it, is Futureweb.
What the release leaves out
The joint text does not say Qualcomm is paying Huawei a net royalty, and it does not say Huawei is paying Qualcomm. It does not name LogicFold. It does not count the patents in the purchase. A headline that adds a direction of payment is adding a term the release left confidential. ip fray published a Qualcomm spokesperson statement the same day: the terms are confidential, reports that call Qualcomm a net payor are incorrect, and claims that the agreement is related to LogicFold are not accurate. That statement also says the purchase is of certain Huawei non-cellular U.S. patents. The Shenzhen text says "certain Huawei U.S. patents" in compute, AI, networking, and other technologies. Non-cellular is in the spokesperson note, not in the joint release.
A cross-license is not a sale
A cross-license and a patent purchase are different transactions, and the release lists them as two numbered parts. The cross-license is permission to use portfolios across the named fields, including 5G. The purchase is a transfer of specific U.S. patents, and it is the part that waits on regulators. A reader who treats "they signed a 5G deal" as "Qualcomm now owns Huawei's 5G patents" has merged the parts. The release does not say the 5G patents are the ones being sold. The spokesperson note says the purchased patents are non-cellular. The path a packet takes, once a radio exists, is a different desk, Networking.
Why it matters on this desk
The hardware desk files chips, the patents on them, and the licenses a product needs before it ships. This agreement is that kind of fact. Two companies that design radio and compute silicon said they licensed each other's portfolios, and that one will buy some of the other's U.S. patents, subject to approval. It is not a phone review, and it is not a model release. The objects in the release are portfolios and a purchase, which is why the page lives here, on Hardware.
Where the accounts differ
Tom's Hardware's headline said Qualcomm will pay Huawei to license patents, and framed the deal as a reversal of an older direction of payment. Qualcomm's spokesperson told ip fray that characterizing Qualcomm as a net payor is incorrect. ip fray also wrote that this is the first deal between the companies covering 5G, and it published its own estimate of the purchase as a slice of Huawei's portfolio, plus a figure for Huawei's licensing contract value. Those estimates are not in the joint release, and this page will not adopt them as the companies' numbers. The disagreement worth filing is narrower. Trade headlines asserted a direction of payment. Qualcomm says that characterization is wrong. Neither the release nor the spokesperson disclosed the actual terms.
What a reader can check
The check is the joint release, not the headline. Does the sentence about to be repeated appear in Huawei's October 5 text? Price, net payor, LogicFold, and a patent count do not. The fields of the cross-license, the fact of a U.S. patent purchase, regulatory approval before that purchase closes, and FRAND as the stated principle do. A handset that implements the radio is a product story for another desk, Mobile.
What to watch next
The page changes when the purchase closes, when a regulator publishes a review, or when either company discloses a term the October 5 text withheld. Until then the release is the record. A later story that announces a closing date is a new fact and can be added here. A later story that repeats a payment direction, without the spokesperson denial, is the headline this page is here to slow down. ip fray said a purchase of this kind can fall under Hart-Scott-Rodino review in the United States. The companies' text says only that necessary regulatory approvals are still required.
What would change the record
A filing that states a price, a closing, or a withdrawal of the net-payor denial would change the sentences above. An agency notice that names this purchase would replace ip fray's expectation of a review with a document. The October 5 release does not include that notice, and this brief will not treat a reporter's threshold arithmetic as the companies' disclosure. John Han's line in the release, that the agreement reflects Qualcomm's 5G licensing program, is a quote about recognition. It is not a royalty schedule.
What stays specific
What stays specific is the pair in the opening: a cross-license across 5G, compute, AI, and networking, and a separate purchase of certain Huawei U.S. patents that is not closed. A model release that uses the word AI is not this announcement. That kind of product story stays on Artificial Intelligence.
Sources
The reports this brief is filing. Futureweb did not republish them.
Questions
What did Huawei and Qualcomm announce on October 5, 2026?
A multi-year cross-license across 5G, compute, AI, and networking, and Qualcomm's purchase of certain Huawei U.S. patents. The purchase closes after regulatory approval.
Does the October 5 release say who pays whom?
No. It does not state a price or a net payor. A Qualcomm spokesperson later told ip fray that reports calling Qualcomm a net payor are incorrect.
Are the purchased patents the 5G portfolio?
The joint release does not say that. It separates the cross-license, which includes 5G, from the purchase of certain U.S. patents. The spokesperson called those purchased patents non-cellular.
Is the patent purchase closed?
Not in the October 5 text. Both companies say it closes after the necessary regulatory approvals. They did not name the agency or the date.
Where should a phone review of this deal go?
It should not. This page is the license text. A handset that implements the radio is a mobile story. A model release is not this announcement.