What the GlobalFoundries and TSMC agreement actually covers
GlobalFoundries says an October 8, 2026 agreement worth $2 billion will make silicon interposers for TSMC in Malta, New York. Volume production is dated to the first half of 2028.
The short version
GlobalFoundries will manufacture silicon interposers for TSMC's CoWoS packaging at Malta, New York. The company values the agreement at $2 billion over five years, with volume production ramping in the first half of 2028.
What happened
On October 8, 2026, GlobalFoundries announced a manufacturing agreement with TSMC to establish a U.S. supply of silicon interposers for TSMC's CoWoS advanced packaging. The release, from Malta, New York, says the agreement is worth $2 billion, that GlobalFoundries will provide manufacturing service to TSMC, and that it will add fabrication capacity at the Malta facility. It says volume production is expected to begin ramping there in the first half of 2028. The initial term is five years, with a framework for later capacity expansion. Tom's Hardware and The Register reported the same agreement. The page filing the release is Futureweb.
What an interposer is in this release
The release describes silicon interposers as part of the advanced-packaging stack for high-performance computing and AI systems, including embedded deep-trench capacitor components. It does not describe a new processor, a new memory chip, or a finished server. Reuters, in a same-day account, called the part the piece that sits beneath processors and memory so they can communicate. That plain description matches the role the company assigned. It is still the company's product category, not a measurement of bandwidth. The desk is Hardware.
What the release does not number
GlobalFoundries states the $2 billion figure, the five-year term, the Malta site, and the first-half-of-2028 ramp. It does not state a wafer target, a capital budget for the expansion, or how the $2 billion is split between the companies. Tom's Hardware says those volumes and that split are undisclosed. This page does not fill them in. A process-node explainer, which this agreement does not settle, is what a process node measures.
Why it matters on this desk
The check is a named agreement, a site, a dollar figure, and a ramp window, all in the manufacturer's release, with two newsrooms reporting the same document. It is a supply agreement for a packaging component. It is not a claim that U.S. advanced packaging is finished, and the release does not say the Malta line replaces TSMC's other packaging plans. An artificial-intelligence brief about a detector opened the same week is a different document, on Artificial intelligence.
What The Register adds around the date
The Register reports that TSMC has also contracted with Amkor for CoWoS-compatible packaging in the United States and has broken ground on its own advanced-packaging facilities in Arizona, and that those facilities are not expected online until 2028 and 2029. That timeline is the outlet's context. It is not a sentence in the GlobalFoundries release. A reader can hold both: Malta is scheduled to ramp interposers in the first half of 2028, and other U.S. packaging projects have their own dates in the trade press. A Qualcomm and Huawei license, a different hardware document, is the Qualcomm and Huawei license.
What this page will not treat as capacity
A share-price move, a premarket percentage, or a sentence that advanced packaging is constrained are commentary around the release. They are not a factory schedule. The only schedule this page is willing to print is the one GlobalFoundries printed: expansion at Malta, first U.S. source of these interposers in the company's telling, volume production ramping in the first half of 2028, five years, framework to expand later. Tom's Hardware agrees the companies have not published a volume.
What to watch next
A later GlobalFoundries or TSMC note that names a wafer count, a capital figure, or a change to the 2028 ramp would replace the gaps above. A groundbreaking at Malta that the companies date would be a new sentence. Another outlet repeating the $2 billion figure would not. The October 8 release is the agreement. It is not a production report.
What would change the dollar figure
A correction from GlobalFoundries on the $2 billion, or a filing that breaks the number into payments, would change the value sentence. A TSMC release that describes a different site or a different packaging family would change the product sentence. Until then the primary text is the Malta announcement, and Tom's Hardware and The Register are the check that the same terms were reported more than once.
What stays a supply agreement
What stays specific is an October 8, 2026 agreement: GlobalFoundries will manufacture silicon interposers for TSMC's CoWoS packaging at Malta, New York, for an initial five years, at a stated value of $2 billion, with volume production expected to ramp in the first half of 2028. It is not a chip launch. It is not a disclosed factory output. The company release and the two outlets agree on those terms. They do not agree on a volume, because no volume was published, and this page does not invent one. Reuters described the interposer as the piece under the processors and the memory. That is a reporter's gloss on the same part. It does not add a second agreement. GlobeNewswire carried the company release the same morning, which is why the Malta dateline and the $2 billion figure show up in more than one feed. The fact to file is still the manufacturer's sentence: a service to TSMC, at Malta, for CoWoS interposers, five years, ramp in the first half of 2028. No other number belongs on this page.
Sources
The reports this brief is filing. Futureweb did not republish them.
Questions
What did GlobalFoundries announce with TSMC on October 8, 2026?
A manufacturing agreement for a U.S. supply of silicon interposers for TSMC's CoWoS advanced packaging. GlobalFoundries put the value at $2 billion over an initial five-year term.
Where will GlobalFoundries add the interposer capacity?
At its Malta, New York facility. The company says that site is meant to be the first U.S. source of silicon interposers for this packaging, including embedded deep-trench capacitor parts.
When does GlobalFoundries say volume production of the interposers ramps?
During the first half of 2028. The October 8 release does not give a wafer count or a capital-spending breakdown.
Does the GlobalFoundries release say TSMC is buying a finished AI chip?
No. It says GlobalFoundries will provide a manufacturing service to TSMC for silicon interposers used in CoWoS packaging. The processors themselves are not the product being announced.
What have Tom's Hardware and The Register added to the interposer agreement?
Both report the same $2 billion, five-year, Malta agreement. Tom's Hardware notes that planned volumes and the split of the $2 billion are not disclosed. Those gaps stay the outlet's observation.