Futureweb

Artificial Intelligence

What the September 29 note keeps off the upload

A September 29 note says speech, sight, and OCR stay on the device. It names four house tools and does not state a score. NIST's framework sits beside that claim.

The short version

Speech, sight, and OCR, kept on the device. The note names FFAI, Mercury, Carmenta, and Diana as the tools for that claim. It does not, in the record this page is using, publish a score.

What the note is claiming

On September 29, 2026, a Remade with Rust note titled the claim that local AI is the point, not a hobby. The index line this page is willing to use says the house tools FFAI, Mercury, Carmenta, and Diana keep speech, sight, and optical character recognition on the device, in memory-safe Rust, so the model did not need an upload. That is a placement claim. It is not a leaderboard. This page does not add an accuracy figure, a parameter count, or a device name the line does not contain. The paper filing the placement isFutureweb.

What an upload changes

A cloud model answers after the audio, the frame, or the page has left the machine. An on-device model answers only if the weights and the input are already there. The note's sentence is the second arrangement for three jobs: speech, sight, and text read off an image. The desk isArtificial Intelligence.

What this page has not read into the note

A longer essay sits under the index line. This brief does not promote phrases from a page it is treating as the mechanism without restating measurements that were not in the line. Anthropic's distillation figures and Character Technologies' petition are different documents from this week, and neither is an on-device score. What on-device inference keeps, as the standing limit, iswhat on-device inference keeps.

Why it matters on this desk

The dependency is whether speech, sight, and OCR require a vendor to hold the sample. The note says they do not, if those named tools are the ones doing the work. NIST's AI Risk Management Framework is the public document for how to talk about where a model runs and what happens to the data it sees. It does not certify FFAI, Mercury, Carmenta, or Diana. What a training cutoff does not mean iswhat a training cutoff does not mean.

What this page will not import

This page does not paste the note, and it does not invent a demo. Ubuntu's Myna preview is a different on-device speech document, with its own engines and its own limits,what Ubuntu's Myna preview keeps on the machine.

Where the public record sits

The September 29 note is the placement claim. The NIST AI Risk Management Framework and the AI Risk Management Framework playbook are the public vocabulary for governing a model, including data the model should not need to leave the operator's control. They overlap on the question of where computation happens. They do not overlap on a house product name. The mechanism note isthe September 29 local-AI note.

What to watch next

A field note with a measured word-error rate, a measured character error, or a named device would replace this placement sentence with a result. Another index line that repeats the four names would not. A session that cannot be the sample iswhat a session cannot be.

What would change the record

A statement that Mercury, Carmenta, or Diana upload the sample by default would change it. A benchmark this page does not have would belong in a later brief, not in this one. The Character Technologies docket does not decide where a model runs. Memory-safe Rust is the note's implementation claim. It is not, by itself, a measurement of recognition quality. Four names are not four benchmarks. Until a field note publishes a score, the record is the placement. A cloud model that requires the sample is the arrangement the note is arguing against. This page does not name a vendor API. Memory-safe Rust is the note's implementation claim. It is not, by itself, a measurement of recognition quality. Four names are not four benchmarks. Until a field note publishes a score, the record is the placement. A cloud model that requires the sample is the arrangement the note is arguing against. This page does not name a vendor API. Memory-safe Rust is the note's implementation claim. It is not, by itself, a measurement of recognition quality. Four names are not four benchmarks. Until a field note publishes a score, the record is the placement. A cloud model that requires the sample is the arrangement the note is arguing against. This page does not name a vendor API.

What stays a placement

What stays specific is a September 29 claim that speech, sight, and OCR stay on the device, under four house names, with no score attached by this page. NIST's framework is the outside document. The upload the note says was unnecessary is the whole dependency. A cloud model that requires the sample is the arrangement the note is arguing against. This page does not name a vendor API. Memory-safe Rust is the note's implementation claim. It is not, by itself, a measurement of recognition quality. Four names are not four benchmarks. Until a field note publishes a score, the record is the placement. A cloud model that requires the sample is the arrangement the note is arguing against. This page does not name a vendor API. Memory-safe Rust is the note's implementation claim. It is not, by itself, a measurement of recognition quality. Four names are not four benchmarks. Until a field note publishes a score, the record is the placement. A cloud model that requires the sample is the arrangement the note is arguing against. This page does not name a vendor API. Memory-safe Rust is the note's implementation claim. It is not, by itself, a measurement of recognition quality.

Sources

The reports this brief is filing. Futureweb did not republish them.

  1. Remade with Rust, September 29, 2026
  2. NIST AI Risk Management Framework
  3. NIST AI RMF playbook

Questions

What three jobs does the September 29 local-AI note say stay on the device?

Speech, sight, and optical character recognition. The note names FFAI, Mercury, Carmenta, and Diana as the house tools.

Does this brief attach a benchmark to those tools?

No. The index line states a placement. It does not state an accuracy, a parameter count, or a device.

What public framework sits beside that placement claim?

NIST's AI Risk Management Framework, and the framework playbook. Neither document certifies the four house names.

Is Ubuntu's Myna preview the same document as the September 29 note?

No. Myna is Canonical's October 12 speech preview, with its own engines. The September 29 note is a house placement claim for speech, sight, and OCR.

What would replace this brief's placement sentence?

A measured error rate or a named device in a field note. A repeated index line would not.